Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Balsam Libraries.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Newport Cultural Center F COR 33495300041780 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 1982102543
  • ISBN: 9781982102548
  • Physical Description: xii, 324 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
    print
  • Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2021.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
The Montoyas know better than to ask why the ... Read More
Subject: Family secrets Fiction
Magic Fiction
Inheritance and succession Fiction
Homecoming Fiction
Ecuadorian Americans Fiction
Families Fiction
Ecuador Fiction
Magic Fiction
FICTION / Magical Realism
FICTION / Hispanic & Latino
FICTION / Fantasy / Contemporary
Ecuadorian Americans
Families
Family secrets
Homecoming
Inheritance and succession
Magic
Ecuador
Genre: Magic realist fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Fantasy fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Magic realist fiction.
Fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Summary: "Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Isabel Allende, and Sarah Addison Allen, this is a gorgeously written novel about a family searching for the truth hidden in their past and the power they've inherited, from the author of the acclaimed and "giddily exciting" (The New York Times Book Review) Brooklyn Brujas series"--
The Montoyas know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low or empty, or why their matriarch won't ever leave their home in Four Rivers, even for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. When Orqu©Ưdea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead Orqu©Ưdea is transformed, leaving them with more questions than answers. Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Tatinelly's daughter, Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings. But a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orqu©Ưdea's line. The four descendants travel to Ecuador-- to the place where Orqu©Ưdea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked back. -- adapted from jacket

Additional Resources